Steph’s GEE Spot

All the fun of a sassy dame…

First few days in Perth… November 4, 2007

Filed under: Blogroll — stayfunny @ 12:14 pm

Well… I’ve been here 3 days now… been pretty busy the last couple of days.  Let me share with you what’s been happening.

I flew out of Jakarta on a really late flight, or should I say really early flight?  You see, it’s bordering on both as it was midnight.  I know!!!  These flights just makes you so tired but there wasn’t any other choice for me as it was the only flight out of Jakarta every other day.  I tell you, I can’t wait to get on that plane as I have been waiting ages for this.  I’ve had an eventful journey on securing my papers for my trip back to Perth.

I arrived on a sunny but cool day on Friday morning, my eyes all red from lack of sleep… felt like sleeping as soon as I got settled down but the thought of unpacking prevented me from doing just that… so unpacked a little bit here and there first then finally felt so weighed down and took 2 hours of sleep.  In the afternoon, pushed myself to go to the school for an orientation.  I’ve always said that I hate studying and that the only reason why I’m taking this up now is just so that I can be physically here in Perth.  But… surprisingly, I got excited during the orientation.  🙂

Saturday, we went to visit a women’s pre-release facility.  This facility basically holds prisoners who behaved quiet well while they were in prison and so they get transferred to this facility.  They teach them certain skills to get them ready to adjust to normal life again.  We went there because there was a fair going on and also met up with my boyfriend’s mom and sister.  Went to the river in the afternoon and got some fresh mussels… well, my bub was doing all the picking, I was just really excited to have a taste of them.  MAN!!!  I tell you, they were the best mussels I have ever tasted in my whole life.  No exaggeration.  So tasty!  🙂

Sunday early morning, we went to pick up abalone’s at North Beach.  They have what they call abalone season here and it happens only a few couple of weeks every year.  There were hundreds and hundreds of people, mostly Asians, on the beach picking abalones.  There’s more than enough for everyone though, but just to prevent people from abusing their right, pickers needs to get a license (and pay for it every year).  Only 20 is allowed per person per week.  So that was quiet an experience seeing all those people carrying their tools and what nots.  In the afternoon, we went to Swan River to watch the Red Bull Air Race.  It was my first time to watch planes flying through obstacles.  🙂  It was great! 

Pretty exciting times!  🙂  Now I have to rest for my first day for school tomorrow!  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

