Steph’s GEE Spot

All the fun of a sassy dame…

New Year’s in Brunei January 1, 2008

Filed under: Blogroll — stayfunny @ 10:13 am

Arrived on a hot New Year’s eve in Brunei… I couldn’t say I like it here.  As my bub noticed, I’ve got my defenses up and sort of expecting someone’s gonna rob me or something… but on the contrary, it’s quite safe here.  Quoting my bub: “Safe to the point of boredom.”  –> which I totally agree.  =P  I can’t really put my finger on why I don’t like it here… it might be because I’ve been in Perth several months now so my expectation of everything is higher.  hmmm… something to ponder on.

Anyhow, one thing that got my interest here is the water village – Kampang Ayer.  It’s bigger than the city.  It’s the biggest water village in the world.  They’ve got their own fire station, police station, clinic and hospital and 11 big schools altogether.  We were told that the population is 28,000.  Big population for a water village hey?

img_0138.jpg   img_0155.jpg   img_0148.jpg   img_0184.jpg   img_0194.jpg

All in all, because we had great food, it was a great experience.  he he  On a serious note, it’s always nice to learn about a culture different than yours.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

